Abortion in Texas is severely restricted. Telemedicine for abortion care is prohibited in the state. Please contact our colleagues below as soon as possible. AOD does not provide care in Texas.
- Texas requires your abortion provider to perform an ultrasound, and may not allow you to have a legal abortion in Texas after around 6 weeks. It is legal to leave the state for care.
- Texas requires in-clinic counseling, then waiting 24 hours before having an abortion. This counseling may require two trips to the clinic.
- If you are under age 18 in Texas, a parent or guardian must give permission for your abortion. If this is not an option for you, contact the Jane’s Due Process hotline 866-999-5263.
Learn more about your options at abortionfinder.org
These are the quality clinics we recommend in Texas. You need to contact them as soon as possible due to the state’s restrictive laws. You can find more options – including out-of-state providers – at ineedana.com, where you can easily search by zip code.
- Whole Woman’s Health – Austin, Fort Worth, McAllen & McKinney (877) 835-1090
- Houston Women’s Clinic (713) 868-4483
- Houston Women’s Reproductive Services (281) 501-2197
Medicaid and private insurances do not cover abortion care in Texas. You can contact these groups for help with funding, travel out of Texas, and other logistics.
- Fund Texas Choice (844) 900-8908
- The Bridge Collective (Central Texas) (512) 524-9822
- Lilith Fund (Central and South Texas) (877) 659-4304
- West Fund (West Texas) (915) 213-4535
- NAF Hotline Fund 1-800-772-9100
If you are a Texas voter wanting to fight for equitable abortion access, we suggest getting involved with:
Where is AOD available?
California • Colorado • Connecticut • Delaware • Georgia • Hawaii • Illinois • Maine • Maryland • Massachusetts • Minnesota • Montana • Nevada • New Hampshire • New Jersey • New Mexico • New York • Oregon • Rhode Island • Vermont • Virginia • Washington
*Patients in D.C. must provide a Maryland or Virginia mailing address.*